9 Things to Know Before Traveling to Morocco

I like to think of myself as an organized person. I enjoy list-making (call me lame, I dare you!) and doing my research before doing something important. I think know I got this characteristic from my dad, which I’m grateful for because looking back in life, thinking ahead would have gotten me out of a lot of trouble! I spent HOURS wide-eyed, even forgetting to eat in order to spend days sitting in front of my computer, doing nothing but researching Morocco. The food, clothing, people, culture; it all intrigued me. But, what I didn’t find was a list of things to know/do before traveling here, in order to make the first week a breeze.

Drum roll everyone….

1. You will get stared at and ‘cat-called’ for being American. 

IMG_1094|| ^^It’s the blonde hair… ||

If you are not Muslim, or of the female race, you will turn heads left and right. This is just how the culture is and how youth (boys especially) are raised. I’m learning that the Muslim way of dress (being covered head to toe) is not so much a culturally defining or restricting way of life, but a way to keep mans eye off of women while walking down the street. This isn’t to say some women don’t choose to dress in traditional head-to-toe attire because of their religious beliefs or for family respect, but it’s definitely becoming a choice rather than expectation. In other words, even if you are wearing a turtle-neck, jeans, gloves, etc., if you are white and/or speak english, you will be looked at! I even get asked to take pictures with people just because I have blonde hair.

This doesn’t mean that Moroccan’s are rude or judging you by any means, they just aren’t used to seeing foreigners navigate their city! It’s how they were raised and something you try getting used to. My advice? Walk with confidence, don’t look anyone in the eye, and learn the local prices sooner than later so you don’t get taken advantage of!

Disclaimer: This type of behavior is definitely more prevalent in less industrialized cities. I noticed clothing and staring less prevalent in Casablanca, Marrakech and Fes where tourism is higher. 

2. Bring toilet paper with you EVERYWHERE

IMG_1083|| Even McDonalds doesn’t have free TP 😦 ||

Going to the club? No toilet paper. Going to a cafe? No toilet paper. Going to a gas station? No toilet paper.

It’s not customary for public restrooms to have toilet paper (for free) to guests. For a small fee of 1-2 Dirham, you can get toilet paper from the women who sit outside the bathrooms who make their living selling toilet paper to unlucky restroom-goers. Buy a roll of travel paper, keep it in your pocket or purse, and you’ll be golden!

3. You will never escape the smell of cigarettes

Marlboro4wiki2|| Marlboro is the cig of choice ||

There aren’t laws here preventing people from smoking cigarettes indoors, in restaurants, in cafes, clubs, stores, and the list goes on. As someone who can’t stand the smell of cigarettes, I wish I would have known this before coming here because it has been really hard adjusting to. Not to mention that cigarettes are unbelievably inexpensive doesn’t help either. They’ve affected my allergies to the point where I am sneezing numerous times a day, so if this is the case for you too, bring allergy medicine and it will help a lot.

4. It DOES get cold here!

IMG_1740|| But mostly the sky is its usual hue of blue! ||

I was under the impression that being right next to the Sahara would mean hot hot hot all the time, but this isn’t the case. We have already had a rainy day (bring a rain jacket – I didn’t) and it’s cold in the morning and at night. Granted, even now in late September it’s in the 90’s in the afternoon, but at night it would be nice to have another pair of jeans, sweat pants, and another jacket.

My recommendations: If you’re just visiting for vacation, one light jacket and a pair of jeans is enough. If you’re studying abroad, bring at least 3 hoodies, 2 light cover ups, and at LEAST 2 pairs of jeans – but you’ll really want 3.

5. American goodies are EXPENSIVE

4383909658_af92b152d8|| $6 for bite size Oreo’s? No wayyyy ||

If you travel to Morocco, no matter how long the length of stay, you will only eat Moroccan food.

This is definitely not the US or Western Europe, meaning that we don’t have every cuisine at our fingertips. You will eat couscous, tajine, potatoes, washarma, and fruit (that’s in season) every day. Craving sushi? Chipotle? Mustard? (Good) Pizza? That sucks… eat an apple. Your next option is to dish out big bucks for a SMALL amount of Oreos at the grocery store for triple American dollars! Hellooooooooo veggies! 

6. You will lose weight here

IMG_1816|| Camel burger anyone? ||

This goes back to the last point, but the food here is incredibly (tasty) and HEALTHY. I’m small as it is, clocking in around 125 pounds and I’ve lost at least 5 pounds here. Everyone in my study abroad group has. We don’t eat any processed foods because you can’t find it here at a good price. I’m eating veggies and fruit every single day – and honestly I’ve eaten more vegetables here in the last 4 weeks than my whole life combined.

Walking everywhere is a big plus, too.

7. You CAN drink the tap water

IMG_1082

I’ll be a negative Nancy for a minute and say that bottled water here is not like bottled water in the US. Every option is mineral water, and honestly tastes the same as the tap water. I can’t speak for other cities in Morocco, but I have been drinking the tap water for a long time and have not gotten sick from it. If you’re weird about diseases, just boil the tap water on the stove and then pour it into a water bottle and freeze it over night!

It’ll save you 6 dirham ($0.73)  😉

8. It’s hard if you’re an animal lover

IMG_1162

IMG_1171

IMG_1374

IMG_1338

IMG_1622

I’ve mentioned this before, but animals are not viewed in the same light in Morocco as they are in America. There are thousands, if not millions, of homeless cats that roam the street at all hours of the day and night waiting for someone to give them food or love. Homeless dogs are killed because they are more likely to carry rabies which is easily passed on to humans. Horses and donkeys are used for hard extreme labor and not treated nearly as well as they are in the US.

For an animal lover like myself, I have found myself petting every stray cat, giving them food, and crying numerous times when I have to leave them behind. My heart isn’t strong enough for it. And it’s the only part of Moroccan culture I feel absolutely needs to change.

9. In the end…you will fall in love with Islam 

I came here knowing absolutely nothing about Islam or Muslim culture. I knew it was a total 360 from America, but I also didn’t know that I would fall in love with it. The traditions, the community, the hospitality (Southern hospitality has NOTHING on Moroccan hospitality), the dress, the call to prayer, the colors, the laughter, the babies, the absolute LOVE for each other and sense of brotherhood.

اللغة العربية هي جميلة || Arabic is beautiful, and so is Islam.

IMG_1146

IMG_1688

IMG_1348

IMG_1189

IMG_1447

IMG_1821

So… Yala! || Come on! … I’ll meet you in the medina. 🙂

21 thoughts on “9 Things to Know Before Traveling to Morocco

  1. nicolecronin says:

    Those of us peace corps volunteers find harassment MUCH worse in bigger cities than our smaller towns. Town people are generally more friendly than city folk. Also- LUCKY
    YOU losing weight. At least 90% of the female peace corps volunteers here gain close to 10 pounds during our first 3 months, but I guess that’s because we live with host families and cannot escape all the bread 😉 oh and one last thing: eventually you’ll get into the groove and start wiping you a$$ with your hand 😉

      • mike says:

        Hey Sydney – great blog, I had a quick question on entering Morocco – did customs look for any dirhams being brought in?

    • Rashida says:

      Well spoken Sydney thank you….heartfelt

      Im heading to Morocco for a family wedding July 7 2016…we are staying at an Airbnb…..I want to stay for a few days afterwards. but I will be alone with an 8 year….can you recommend some sights that she will enjoy doing….I’m muslim so I understand the culture but I’m American and have never been in a Muslim country alone even while in Saudi and DubIA I had a male family member with me…..I look forward to your reply…I thank you in advance for your time.

  2. Kristin says:

    Thanks for sharing this. The water & toilet paper tip is really good to know. My husband and I are flying to Marrakesh tomorrow and hopefully we will love it as much as you do!

  3. tahira says:

    Thank you,for sharing me and my daughter are flying day after tomorrow to Morocco and hope we will find it awesome there!

  4. Caroline says:

    We are going to Agadir next week and have a few of questions for you. What is the best way to exchange currency? Is it safe to carry my SLR camera with me or should i get a little pocket one? What is the best way to get out and about, I really want to get to Marrakech. What is one place I HAVE to go to. Thank you 😀 x

  5. Dana Johnson Grisso says:

    I visited Morocco in September 2014. I have a friend living there. I was lucky enough to have two of the best “tour guides” in Morocco. My friend and his cousin ,and the rest of his family made me and my cousin feel so welcomed there! I loved every second. Im planning to go back soon!!you are so right about the animals and toliet paper!!you should have seen my face the first time i saw the Turkish toliet. lol

  6. Angel says:

    Thank you for sharing your experiences! I enjoyed reading your thoughts, and I know you want to help out future travelers, but I want to address comment #9 because it’s actually loaded with many harmful stereotypes.

    -You’re totally right, hospitality and friendship are crucial cornerstones of Islam. Yet, there’s definitely more to the religion than “the colors, the laughter, the babies.” If someone claimed they loved Christianity because of babies and giggles, wouldn’t that seem a bit shallow and even somewhat insulting?

    -When you say muslim culture is “total 360 from America” you’re excluding the 2.6 millions muslim-Americans who are a vibrant part of American culture, and are therefore perpetuating stereotypes about a homogenous (white) US life

    Thanks again for taking the time to write down your tips. I wanted to voice these points not to be mean or rude, but just to prompt you to think more deeply about the implications of your writing

    • Sydney Cason says:

      Thank you so much for this comment, and you are completely right. My time in Morocco was the first time I opened my eyes and heart to a new culture, a new religion, and people that were even the slightest bit different from me. Two years later, a lot of reflecting, and MUCH more time to read, make parallels, critically think, and take more classes, and I couldn’t agree more. Although my eyes were opening to the new possibilities out there, I hadn’t fully grasped it yet. I still haven’t, and don’t think I ever will. But I can try, and continue on in the search for clarity and truth and openness. So thanks!

  7. Sabrina says:

    I am going this summer, but I’m so nervous! In the beginning of planning my trip with my friends I was very excited, but lately I have been doing research and starting to get nervous lol
    Great post! this really helps me out!

  8. Ismaeel Makdisi says:

    Hi,
    I live in Manhattan Beach, CA, and intend to spend a month in Morocco going sightseeing. Do you have any suggested itinerary?
    Many thanks,
    Ismaeel

Leave a Comment!